Fan Girl Friday #4

Hello Bright Ones, 

Hope you’re all well & have a had a wonderful week. What are you getting up to this weekend? Any exciting plans? A spot of Christmas shopping perhaps? 

If you read my last post, Gratitude & Gallstones you’ll see my week didn’t quite go according to plan & I’ve been resting up at home all week after my impromptu surgery but I’m hoping to get out on Sunday to the local Christmas markets & buy a few last minute gifts. 

If you also read my Flavor of the Month post earlier this week you’ll know I was highlighting all things Christmas & on Tuesday this week we had our very own Elf on the Shelf “Tinkerbell” as named by Mr 4,  come & join our family for the holiday season, so I thought for this fan girl Friday I’d keep it simple & highlight the Instagram hashtag 

#ELFONTHESHELF 

  Just some of the fun antics the elves can get up too.  

     Some of the MANY photos shared to the # on Instagram

So What is Elf on the Shelf?

It’s a family tradition where an elf sent by Santa comes to live with you & reports back to him your behavior during the lead up to Christmas. Your child must name your elf & then they can get to work. The elf is magic & will fly back to the North Pole each night while you sleep & take up a new hiding place or activity each day for you to discover when you wake. This is where the fun comes in & you are only limited by your imagination. The elf doll comes with a book that explains it all very well in a cute little rhyming story. On Christmas Eve they go back with Santa to live at the North Pole until they return to your home again the next year. 

 The hashtag is great to follow to get ideas & inspiration if you’re playing along at home with your own elf or it’s just fun to watch & see what elf antics others are getting up to & get into the holiday spirit.

 I know “Elf” can divide people as some see the doll itself as creepy & that you shouldn’t need a toy to help solve behavioral issues, blah blah blah….  But I’m totally on team FUN! It’s about creating memories & preserving that childhood magic & I’m not gunna lie, if a little toy elf makes the next 3 weeks of life here a little more peaceful then I don’t see that as a bad thing at all. You gotta do what you gotta do and besides who’s to say your Elf can’t help impart the messages you want to teach your children, like a little note telling them to be kind, to share a toy with a friend, bake cookies for a neighbor or reminding them to brush their teeth. 

Seeing the photos of all the other elves & their adventures brings a smile to my face & I’m loving watching Peanut search for Tinkerbell each morning to find out what she’s been up to. I’m looking forward to carrying on this tradition with my boys for many years to come.

Here’s some photos I shared to the #elfontheshelf hashtag of Tinkerbell’s arrival & the first two days she spent at our home. 

   
   

You can follow her daily adventures with us over on my Instagram account HERE

                     LOZZIE X

Do you have an elf visit your house at Christmas time? What’s the funniest or naughtiest thing your elf has done? If you have an elf, what’s their name? 

Tell me everything, here on the blog or Here or Here 

Leave a Reply

