Fan Girl Friday #6

Hello & Happy New Year! 

2016! Wow. How did you see it in? Have you made any resolutions? Do you have a word to focus on for the year?

Being the party animal that I am these days, I was in bed long before midnight, but managed to catch the 9pm fireworks on tv before turning in. However thanks to a certain little person I had many wake up calls through the night too so I saw in the very early hours of the new year.

Hubby worked all day New Year’s Eve & was suppose to be back at work again early this morning (ahhh the joys of working in retail) so we were never going to be doing anything big to celebrate this new year’s anyway, besides the fact we have 2 little ones. However at the last minute they decided to cut some hours to save money, which means he’s actually home today (yay!) so hopefully we’ll get out to do something fun together and kick start the year off right.

For my 1st fan girl Friday post this year I’m highlighting a favorite blog & #hashtag.

1st up is the lovely Babs & her fun & creative online space over at Patchwork Cactus

 

In the interest of full disclosure I should mention she’s my sister in law (I know, I’m lucky right) but even if she wasn’t family, I’d follow her blog anyway because she’s super cool, takes beautiful pics of her little ones, has awesome free printables, radiates happiness & fun & does some awesome tutorials that anyone, (including the non crafty/creative types like me) can totally do. 

Her Montessori parenting style is inspiring & she often gives great examples of what you can do at home with your little ones to help encourage their independence. She also has some fab DIY projects & simple, yummy recipes, some of which I’ve been lucky enough to taste first hand. 

She also writes articles for some well known parenting sites, she’s working on an e-book all about spreading happiness & she’s just an all round awesome chick. TRUE!

Some of my favorite posts of hers are : 

 Spread yourself thick

Encouraging toddler independence at home 

20 Baking tips (from a blogger) 

Tea & coconut oil sugar scrub 

I also love her “taking stock” & “around here” posts that give you glimpses into her life & mind. 
You should definitely go & take a look around her blog as there is something for everyone & I guarantee you’ll leave inspired & happy.

 Whilst you’re there be sure to wish her a Happy Birthday too as today is her special day. Yes, she is a New Years baby! 

Next up is one of my all time favorite #hashtags on Instagram. 

#FMSPHOTOADAY created by the lovely Chantelle from Fatmumslim blog.

I’ve been playing along with the idea of “a photo a day” since 2009, when I recieved a new camera for Christmas & set myself the challenge of trying to take a snap with it everyday. My pictures were random & of whatever I came across in my day. This was before I discovered Instagram & Chantelle’s photo challenge that gives you a prompt for each day. 

In the seven years (7 years!) I’ve been doing this though, not ONCE have I managed to complete the full year. 

So, this year I’m setting myself the challenge to complete all 365 days. (Well 366 actually as its a leap year. I do hope this doesn’t mean I’ve already set myself up for failure πŸ˜‰

I love having a prompt to work with as it really makes you stop & think & take in the little things around you each day. I also love the Instagram community & fellow #fmsphotoaday players. Seeing other peoples take on the prompt & their creative photos, inspires me & makes me want to work on my own photography skills & develop my own signature style. 

Here’s this months list & you can find all the details you need to know to play along here.

  

So come & join me for the month of January, the whole year (if you’re up for the challenge) or just play whenever inspiration strikes. 

You can follow me & my 2016 #fmsphotoaday pics over here on Instagram & I’ll also aim to put up a monthly recap over on my Facebook page too. 

If you play along be sure to comment here so I can follow your year in pictures too.

                        LOZZIE X


Leave a Reply

