Move More March

  

Following on from my Fit & Fab Feb, I’ve decided to focus on moving more in March! 

Of course I’ll still be focusing on those goals I set myself in February like limiting processed foods & drinking more water/herbal teas, cutting out soft drinks etc, but I’ll also be making more of an effort to get off my butt more often. 

Whilst I was pretty good & stuck to my goals for most of the month, I did kind of come unstuck a little towards the end of Feb & this first week of March has been a bit of a write off.

I’ve had a sick & teething bub on my hands & I’m an emotional eater so being stressed out & tired has seen me reach for the not so great food choices a bit more & feeling like I want to eat my body weight in chocolate & icecream! Oops!

However that’s life right, so just gotta dust myself off & get back on the horse or wagon or any other metaphor that sees me moving forward!

I had a birthday last week too which saw me over indulge a little too much also, but as I’m now closer to 40 than 30 & they say it gets harder to lose weight as you get older (I find it’s always hard!) I’ve decided this is the year to focus on me & become the best version of myself I can be. I still have a few years up my sleeve before I hit the big 4-O but when I get there I want to be 40-“fit & foxy” not 40-“fat & frumpy.”

So Ive pulled out my Fitbit to help motivate me & see just how much I move or don’t each day. 2 days a week I walk my son to preschool which is about 20 mins each way. I do this to drop him off & pick him up (unless it’s raining or ridiculously hot, I’m not crazy!) on these days I absolutely kill getting in my 10000 steps a day, usually more. So those days are easy & I’ve even noticed my fitness increasing just by doing this.

I have also been trying to get out 1 or 2 more times during the week for a walk on my own or pushing Pumpkin in the pram but have only been doing about 30-35mins. So for the remainder of March I want to increase this to 3 times a week & aim for a minimum of 45 mins building up to 1 hr. 

It’s these small but achievable changes combined with last months goals that I’m hoping bring big, long term results. 

                              LOZZIE X

How often do you exercise per week? What’s your favorite activity to do that sees you moving more? If you have kids how do you find the time to incorporate exercise into your day? 

Tell me all your tips & tricks here or over on Facebook or Instagram I’d love to hear from you  

11 thoughts on “Move More March

  1. I also tend to be an emotional eater. I figure this is going to be hard thing to change straight away, so I make sure I have healthy snacks to munch on – containers of grapes in the fridge, chopped up melons, almonds etc. Not saying it fixes the problem, but it makes it a bit easier šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I totally eat my feelings – I’m a shocker! I find if I prepare something healthy for lunch and it’s ready I eat much better than when I have to think about making something. I’ve taken to prepping and washing all the fruit and veg as soon as I get home from shopping, so there’s always a healthy snack to grab. I exercise about 5 times a week – there’s nothing better than a run to start my day, especially if I’m listening to a kick ass podcast! Having said that, I spend so much time at home these days, that I need a bigger home to walk round so I can make up my steps! LOL!

    Like

    1. You’re sooo good with your runs Sam. I wish I could just get out & go when I felt like it but unfortunately I have to persuade a very stubborn little person to get dressed & come with me or wait til hubbys home so I can go on my own but sometimes by then the motivation is lacking or its time to start the dinner, bath & bed routine. Prepping the food is key though &. I really need to do it more often

      Like

    1. I find with kids it’s harder to find the time but need to make it happen. Thinking maybe I need an exercise bike or something to use here at home to help make it easier, something I can do whilst watching the kids play or whilst watching tv. Good on you too šŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Oh yes sometimes I jus need to get out of the house & away from my boys for my sanity. Sometimes that’s enough motivation for me to get out & go for a walk. 5 times a week is awesome & that’s what I’m aiming for, it may be a slow process but from doing nothing it’s definitely a big goal for me.

      Like

  3. I do the day care walk too and it is a great way to get in some exercise. Unfortunately though I only have my youngest in one day a week this year so the routine of walks isn’t really setting. How do you go with your FitBit and pushing a pram? Mine never registers very well and I try to push with just one hand while swinging the other but it is ridiculous.

    Like

    1. Yes I also feel those two days aren’t quite enough, hence the need to add in a few more walks during the week but man it’s hard to get out with kids or work around their schedules & routines! I have an older style Fitbit the “one” which I just clip onto my bra & therefore don’t have any issues when walking the pram. I would like to upgrade to a wrist one at some stage but that is a good point that I should consider first.

      Like

Leave a Reply

